SPAMMER NOT US
If you received a spam mail from services1@vmpdev.com we were not responsible for sending it out.
Someone on a certain network in Texas, America sent out this email and forged our domain name in the reply address.
A complaint has been made to the owners of the ADSL service who supplied the connection to the spammer, and they are currently investigating.
Below is the information I received from one of the bounced messages. I have blanked out some of the info so as not to hinder the investigation and I am seriously thinking of putting the person responsible up on Fraud Charges.
Received: from aaaaaaaa (adsl-xx-xx-xxx-xxx.dsl.stlsmo.swbell.net
[xx.xx.xxx.xxx])
by vamx02.mgw.rr.com (8.12.5/8.12.5) with SMTP id h2EMN0t2029996
for <smid@columbus.rr.com>; Fri, 14 Mar 2003 17:23:21 -0500 (EST)
Message-Id: <200303142223.h2EMN0t2029996@vamx02.mgw.rr.com>
From: services1@vmpdev.com
To: xxxx@columbus.rr.com
Subject: Get the most out of your mortgage! Lowest rates in years!
Sender: services1@vmpdev.com
For the uneducated, the important part here is the "Received from:" field
It shows exactly what machine sent it: aaaaaaaa
what IP address it was on (in blue) and who are the owners of the ADSL Service (in red) that was used. (adsl-xx-xx-xxx-xxx.dsl.stlsmo.swbell.net [xx.xx.xxx.xxx])
We apologize to any user that has been inconvenienced by this spam, but please understand that it was not us and that our good business name has also been soiled.
Please send all complaints to abuse@sbcglobal.net
Vince Pannell
Owner/Manager
vincepan@vmpdev.com